Rail Transit Commissions

Created under state law, rail transit commissions oversee preservation, operation, and improvement of freight rail lines. SWWRPC provides land management and administration support to the Pecatonica Rail Transit Commission, South Central Wisconsin Rail Transit Commission, and Wisconsin River Rail Transit Commission. Each of these commissions fall completely or partially within the five-county region.

Wisconsin River Rail Transit Commission

The Wisconsin River Rail Transit Commission deals with rail matters in the counties of Crawford, Dane, Grant, Iowa, Jefferson, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, and Waukesha.

South Central Wisconsin Rail Transit Commission

The South Central Wisconsin Rail Transit Commission is responsible for the rail corridor which is now a trail, running from Madison, WI to Freeport, IL. The rail corridor is the Badger State Trail in Wisconsin and becomes the Jane Addams Trail at the Wisconsin/Illinois state line: there is no active rail.

View our South Central Wisconsin document archives.

Pecatonica Rail Transit Commission

The Pecatonica Rail Transit Commission oversees rail issues in Green and Rock counties and trail matters in Iowa, Green, and Lafayette counties.

View our Pecatonica Rail Transit Commission document archives.

You may run into some issues browsing this website using internet explorer, as this website is built using modern web standards. For more information, please read this blog post written by Microsoft in February of 2019: The perils of using Internet Explorer as your default browser. For the best experience, please upgrade to use a modern browser, such as Google Chrome.